Singapore University of Technology and Design
GPA calculator
Quick answer: SUTD grades on a 5-point system in which an A+ is worth 5.30 — more than the 5.00 of an A — and averages grade points weighted by subject credits. SUTD does not publish its honours classification bands on a public page, so this page does not state them.
SUTD GPA calculator
How SUTD calculates your GPA
The calculator weights each grade point by the subject’s SUTD credits. SUTD’s public documents give the grade points and the credit system but not every averaging rule — for example how pass/fail subjects or repeated subjects count — so where it matters, the GPA on your transcript is the authority.
Because an A+ is worth 5.30, a GPA above 5.00 is arithmetically possible.
One SUTD credit is one hour of workload a week, written as three numbers: 3-5-4 means 3 contact hours, 5 hours of laboratory, design or fieldwork and 4 hours of preparation — 12 credits. Most subjects are 12 credits, and a full undergraduate term is up to 48 credits (four subjects).
Grade points
| Grade | Grade point | SUTD’s description |
|---|---|---|
| A+ | 5.30 | Exceptional performance |
| A | 5.00 | Excellent performance |
| A- | 4.50 | Excellent performance in most aspects |
| B+ | 4.00 | Very good performance |
| B | 3.50 | Very good performance in most aspects |
| B- | 3.00 | Good performance |
| C+ | 2.50 | Fairly good performance |
| C | 2.00 | Satisfactory performance |
| D+ | 1.50 | Improvement needed |
| D | 1.00 | Minimally acceptable performance with much improvement needed |
| F | 0.00 | Fail |
SUTD’s current table does not state a pass mark separately: D (1.00) is the lowest grade above F. The table does not apply to the undergraduate research programme iUROP.
Honours classification
SUTD’s public documents do not give the cumulative-GPA bands for its honours classes, and third-party sites disagree on them (some list a Merit class, some do not). This page states none until SUTD’s own rules are read, and the calculator shows your GPA without a classification.
Grade-free subjects in the first year
Every Term 1 subject is grade-free — the result is “Pass” or “No Record” — and a student may choose up to four more grade-free subjects from Terms 2 and 3. These carry no letter grade, so leave them out of the calculator.
The A+ really is 5.30
Some websites say SUTD’s A+ is worth 5.3; others give it 5.0 like NUS and NTU. SUTD’s own fact sheet settles it: 5.30. Below A+ the points match NUS and NTU, but a GPA near the top is not directly comparable with theirs.
The scale changed after 2017
SUTD’s 2017 exchange information package listed only A, B, C, D and F, worth 5, 4, 3, 2 and 0, with D as the passing grade. The current table adds plus and minus grades, puts D at 1.00 and A+ at 5.30. An older transcript may therefore use the earlier values — read the grade legend printed on your own transcript.
Converting to a US GPA or a percentage
SUTD publishes no conversion of a GPA into a percentage. The site’s Singapore-to-US converter is built on the NUS/NTU grade points; SUTD’s A+ is worth 5.30, so it is not applied here.
Contact
| Office | Office of the Registrar |
| Address | 8 Somapah Road, Singapore 487372 |
| Phone | +65 6303 6600 |
| registrar@sutd.edu.sg | |
| Website | https://www.sutd.edu.sg/ |
Sources
Every figure on this page is read from the university’s own documents:
- SUTD Factsheet AY2025-26 (SUTD Office of International Relations) — information as at August 2025. Read in full. The grading table with SUTD’s descriptions, the credit system and term workloads. SUTD’s own copies of its exchange guide on sutd.edu.sg now return “not found”; this copy is SUTD’s document as circulated to partner universities.
- SUTD — Undergraduate studies — updated 26 January 2026. The grade-free first-year subjects.
- SUTD Information Package for Inbound Exchange AY2017 (SUTD–ZJU Collaboration Office) — information correct as at 15 February 2017. Read in full. The earlier A–F table (5, 4, 3, 2, 0).
- SUTD — Online Degree Verification — the Registrar’s email and the Student Administration contact.
- SUTD — Contact SUTD — address and telephone.
Rules change between intakes. Your own cohort’s handbook and your transcript are always authoritative.