Hong Kong university
GPA calculators
Grade points and honours classification, read from each university’s own regulations.
Read this first: Hong Kong’s universities do not share one scale. EdUHK goes to 4.33; HKU, HKUST, PolyU and CityU give an A+ 4.3; CUHK, HKBU and Lingnan top out at 4.0, and HKBU’s minus and plus grades are a third of a point apart. They also treat retaken courses differently, and CUHK and HKUST need two averages — major and overall — for each honours class. Every figure comes from the university’s own regulations.
| University | Top grade point | Status |
|---|---|---|
| The University of Hong Kong (HKU) | 4.3 | Verified — calculator and honours bands |
| The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) | 4.0 | Verified — calculator; honours need two GPAs (see page) |
| The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) | 4.3 | Verified — calculator; honours need two averages (see page) |
| The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) | 4.3 | Verified — calculator; classification set per programme |
| City University of Hong Kong (CityU) | 4.3 | Verified — calculator and honours bands (not for 2020/21–2023/24 intakes) |
| Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) | 4.0 | Verified — calculator and honours bands |
| Lingnan University (LU) | 4.0 | Verified — calculator and honours bands |
| The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) | 4.33 | Verified — calculator; classification table not published in readable form |
| Hong Kong Metropolitan University (HKMU) | 4.3 | Verified — calculator and honours bands |
| The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong (HSUHK) | — | Self-financing. Its Registry site carries announcements rather than academic regulations, and no current public page or catalogue gives its grade points or classification bands. |
| Hong Kong Shue Yan University (HKSYU) | — | Self-financing. No public page giving its grade points or honours classification was found; its admissions pages quote GPA thresholds for entry only. |
| Saint Francis University (SFU) | — | Self-financing, formerly Caritas Institute of Higher Education. No public page giving its grade points or classification was found in this pass. |
See also
The Hong Kong grading scale page compares every university’s grade points side by side and explains the classification rules.
A university gets a page only once its own regulations have been read in full; an entry without a link has not met that bar yet.
Retaken courses at a glance
| University | What counts when you retake a failed course |
|---|---|
| HKU | The F stays in the GPA |
| HKUST | Both the F and the new grade count (2023–24 intake onwards) |
| PolyU | Only the final attempt |
| CityU | Only the latest attempt |
| HKBU | Only the highest grade (2017–18 intake onwards) |
| Lingnan | The F stays in the GPA |
| CUHK | Not stated on its public grading page |
| EdUHK | Not stated in its regulations |